One Day, Introverts Will Conquer the World

Success! My wonderful hubby’s birthday party went off without a hitch. He had a good time, the guests seemed to have a good time, and I got through the evening without acting awkward (and I had a good time).

awkward_turtle_by_sgthief-d3h2pgu

Hmm … maybe I’m more confident now because I’m 25, married, and have a kid. Or maybe I’m finally just learning to chiiiillll.

In general, I’m a fearless kinda gal, social situations included. Sing a solo for a packed auditorium? No problem. Teach high school history and social studies? Nailed it.

But something about parties just gets me. I think it’s because the whole point of a party is to have fun. As a host, it’s kind of your responsibility to make sure people enjoy themselves, right? To me, that seems like a lot of pressure!

I *did* throw an awesome dinner party for Brian’s birthday two years ago, but that was during our undergrad when all his friends were my friends, too. Plus, Franciscan students are a friendly bunch. This time was different: I’m not nearly as familiar with his friends/colleagues at Buffalo. I don’t study there. But … turns out, these people were a friendly bunch, too.

What I learned: Party host is actually a nice role for an introvert, provided that your guests get along. They can talk, mingle, and enjoy your refreshments. You can mingle, too, but you can always dart away under the pretext of refilling snacks or whatnot.

Anyways. Most importantly, my awesome hubby had a good time. And that makes me happiest of all, ’cause that guy’s the best.

Leave a comment